Stephan Faulkner

Presented by

Stephen Faulkner will offer a free show on Thursday, July 23 at 8:00 p.m. live on Mémoire et Racines’ Facebook page.

Stephen Faulkner recorded his first solo album: Cassonade, which contained his famous song, Si j’avais un char.

In 1980, he published À cheval donné, on r’garde pas la bride,with countryaccents, but slightly more rock than the previous album. Faulkner can count on the collaboration of prestigious guests. Jean Millaire, Michel Lamothe, Roger Belval and Marjo of the group Corbeau, Michel Rivard, Réal Desrosiers and Michel Hinton de Beau Dommage, Christiane Robichaud, France Castel and Louise Forestier at the choirs, etc. One song stands out in particular, Doris, a country-rock ballad about the difficulties of being a club singer, a theme that inspires Faulkner.

The 1980s were quite difficult in terms of discography. Le Rap du pape, a song that derisively evokes the visit of Pope John Paul II to Montreal in 1984, was withdrawn from the market by his record company.

In the mid-80s he made two trips to France and delighted the public with his few shows. He is a guest of Jean-Louis Foulquier in Pollen on France Inter.

In the early 1990s,he gave a few series of shows in France. The song Un cowboy à Paris testifies to his French “experience”.

In 1992, after a long eclipse on disc, he returned with Caboose. The disc contains the song Cajuns de l’an 2000, which weaves parallels between the history of the people Acadian (deported to Louisiana) and the political situation of Quebecers. Pierre Flynn formerly of the group Octobre at theHammond organ B3 and the choirs, Rick Haworth and Jean Millaire on guitar, Dan Bigras on piano have all played on this album.

In 1995, the anthology Si j’avais un char released all of its production from 1975 to 1992. That summer, he reunited with Plume for an Pommes de routeanniversary concert, on the stage of the Montreal Spectrum,as part of the Montreal FrancoFolies.

In 2000, he returned to the album with Tessons d’auréole. The album includes the suave swing La Perle rare as well as L’Étoile vagabonde, a sequel to the song Doris.

In 2002, Stephen Faulkner repatriated his entire catalogue to La Tribu, a record label directed by the phlegmatic Claude Larivée (president of ADISQ from 2007). Since then, Cass has released two new albums for La Tribu, including Capturé.vivant (a live), recorded at the Just for Laughs cabaret in 2002.

In 2004, he returned with Les Cheminots for his album Train De Vie, on which we also find Antoine Gratton on keyboards and Éloi Painchaud on 12-string guitar, harmonica and choirs.

Stephan Faulkner

Présenté par  

Stephen Faulkner offrira un spectacle gratuit le jeudi 23 juillet à 20h00 en direct sur la page Facebook de Mémoire et Racines.

Stephen Faulkner enregistre un premier album solo : Cassonade, qui contient sa célèbre chanson, Si j’avais un char.

En 1980, il publie À cheval donné, on r’garde pas la bride, aux accents country, mais légèrement plus rock que l’album précédent. Faulkner peut compter sur la collaboration d’invités prestigieux. Jean MillaireMichel LamotheRoger Belval et Marjo du groupe CorbeauMichel RivardRéal Desrosiers et Michel Hinton de Beau DommageChristiane RobichaudFrance Castel et Louise Forestier aux chœurs, etc. Une chanson se démarque plus particulièrement, Doris, une ballade country-rock sur les difficultés du métier de chanteur de club, un thème qui inspire Faulkner.

Les années 1980 sont assez difficiles sur le plan discographique. Le Rap du pape, une chanson qui évoque avec dérision la visite du pape Jean-Paul II à Montréal en 1984, est retirée du marché par sa compagnie de disques.

Au milieu des années 80 il fait deux séjours en France et régale le public de ses quelques shows. Il est l’invité de Jean-Louis Foulquier dans Pollen sur France Inter.

Au début des années 1990, il donne quelques séries de spectacles en France. La chanson Un cowboy à Paris témoigne de son « expérience » française.

En 1992, après une longue éclipse sur disque, il revient avec Caboose. Le disque contient la chanson Cajuns de l’an 2000, qui tisse des parallèles entre l’histoire du peuple acadien (déporté jusqu’en Louisiane) et la situation politique des Québécois. Pierre Flynn anciennement du groupe Octobre à l’orgue Hammond B3 et aux chœurs, Rick Haworth et Jean Millaire à la guitare, Dan Bigras au piano ont tous joué sur cet album.

En 1995, l’anthologie Si j’avais un char remet en circulation l’ensemble de sa production de 1975 à 1992. Cet été-là, il retrouve Plume pour un concert-anniversaire de Pommes de route, sur la scène du Spectrum de Montréal, dans le cadre des FrancoFolies de Montréal.

En 2000, il revient sur disque avec Tessons d’auréole. L’album comprend le suave swing La Perle rare de même que L’Étoile vagabonde, une suite de la chanson Doris.

En 2002, Stephen Faulkner rapatrie tout son catalogue chez La Tribu, étiquette de disques que dirige le flegmatique Claude Larivée (président de l’ADISQ à partir de 2007). Depuis, Cass a publié deux nouveaux albums chez La Tribu, dont Capturé vivant (un live), enregistré au cabaret Juste pour rire en 2002.

En 2004, il revient avec Les Cheminots pour son album Train De Vie, sur lequel on retrouve aussi Antoine Gratton aux claviers et Éloi Painchaud à la guitare 12 cordes, à l’harmonica et aux chœurs.